Citizenship Award

The citizenship award is granted occasionally and always when an organization or person following the purpose of the foundation has rendered outstanding services in the fight against terrorism.

Annual call for applications for the Science Award  

Every spring, the Annette Barthelt Award for Marine Research is granted at GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research in Kiel by the Annette Barthelt-Stiftung e.V. in memory of the terror victims of Djibouti, Annette Barthelt, Marco Buchalla, Hans-Wilhelm Halbeisen and Daniel Reinschmidt..


The annual award ceremony for young oceanographers was first held in 1990. The prize is intended for young scientists in the area of marine research. Young marine scientists from all disciplines can apply for it. The award comes with a research grant of 6000 euros funded by the German Federal Minister of Education and Research. The use of the stipend should benefit the scientific goals of the award winner.

Outstanding scientific work in a sub-discipline of marine research, maritime technology and navigation or interdisciplinary work related to German program contributions to marine research activities will be awarded. The work should be the results of final theses (master's, doctoral) and related to a ship expedition. The prize may be split among applicants.

The award winner(s) should not have exceeded the age of 30 at the time of writing the thesis. The work should not be more than two years old at the time of application. The Scientific Advisory Board of the Annette Barthelt Foundation decides whether the submitted work is worthy of the award. It may appoint specific experts in individual cases. The decision on the awarding of the prize to one or more prize winners is made by a jury with a simple majority. It consists of members of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Foundation and its Board of Directors.

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Annette Barthelt Foundation are currently (as of January 2023):

  • Prof. Dr. Heide Schulz-Vogt, Chairperson, Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research, Warnemünde (IOW)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Brandt, Vice chairperson, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel (GEOMAR);
  • Prof. Gerhard Bohrmann, Marine Geologie, MARUM, Zentrum für marine Umweltwissenschaften, Bremen;
  • Herr Tim Eder, Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Bonn; Prof. Dr. Angelika Brandt, Biologie, Senckenberg, Forschungsinstitut und Naturmuseum Frankfurt/M;
  • Prof. Dr. Andrea Koschinsky-Fritsche, Jacobs Universität Bremen;

Applications for the Annette Barthelt Award for Marine Research should include two copies of the scientific paper, a separately attached abstract of this paper, a short curriculum vitae and a description of the scientific career. The current call text for 2023 is available for download here. The current call text availableprovidesd at this site is authoritative for the general conditions for the submission of the thesis.

On behalf of: Prof. Dr. Arne Körtzinger, Dr. Catriona Clemmesen-Bockelmann